Dwayne Carey
Boone County Sheriff
Boone County Sheriff's Department and Jail
2121 County Dr.
Columbia, MO 65201
Office (573) 875-1111
Fax (573) 874-8953


The Boone County Sheriff's department is made up of several divisions: Administration, Corrections, Enforcement, and Services.

The Administration is comprised of the Sheriff, Chief Deputy, Chief Jail Administrator, two Corrections Division Captains, two Enforcement Division Captains, one Services Division Captain and the Administrative Deputy. It is the responsibility of these nine people to establish the annual budget, set policy & procedure, manage personnel and department programs, and supervise all aspects of the department.
The Boone County Jail administrative team is comprised of a Chief Jail Administrator, and two Captains, each accountable for two squads of custody personnel. Similar to "district patrol" situations, this methodology provides continuity of command with the line supervisors and their squads to the individual captains that monitor and guide their daily operation.
The South and North District Commanders oversee the day to day operation of Patrol, Investigations, School Resource Officers, Civil Process and the Traffic Unit. In order to better manage operations the county was split geographically into north and south districts, with a District Commander (Captain) assigned to each. The dividing line for the north and south districts is I-70.
The Services Division, commanded by a Captain, is comprised of full and part-time civilian employees. This division is responsible for personnel and budgetary management, payroll, processing of civil papers, evidence tracking, offense report entry, processing of warrants issued by the 13th Judicial Circuit Court, fleet management, and various other support duties for the Sheriff's Department and Jail.