Dwayne Carey
Boone County Sheriff
Boone County Sheriff's Department and Jail
2121 County Dr.
Columbia, MO 65201
Office (573) 875-1111
Fax (573) 874-8953

Services

Concealed Carry Frequently Asked Questions

Monday through Friday - 8:30 am to 4:30 pm
(closed state & federal holidays)

*** 2016 Changes to CCW created by Senate Bill 656 ***

Changes are effective either October 14, 2016 or January 1, 2017

The Unlawful Use of a Weapon statute (571.030) was amended which effectively de-criminalized carrying a concealed firearm without a permit. This amendment became effective January 1, 2017. The new language now only states that it is unlawful to carry a firearm (open or concealed) in the areas listed under 571.107 (whether one has a ccw permit or not). A person must still be lawfully able to own and/or possess a firearm in order to carry it. For the listing of prohibited areas to carry, here is a link to 571.107.

Extended and Lifetime CCW Permits

A number of sections were added which create Extended and Lifetime ccw permits. What is especially important for everyone to understand, is that Extended and Lifetime permits (10 years for $200, 25 years for $250, lifetime for $500) are ONLY VALID INSIDE THE STATE OF MISSOURI. There is NO RECIPROCITY with other states on the Extended/Lifetime permits. The ONLY permit that maintains reciprocity is the 5 year renewable permit. So, someone with an Extended or Lifetime Missouri ccw permit who travels outside of Missouri, it is as if they have no ccw permit at all, and are subject to the laws and penalties of those states if they are not compliant with their laws. Although this portion of SB 656 was effective October 14, 2016, the templates for the extended permits have not yet been created or released for issuance. The application process remains the same for each type of permit.

Training

There has been a modification to training. Now, a person can take an online NRA firearms safety course of at least 1 hour in length taught by an NRA instructor, that covers the principles of marksmanship, care and cleaning, and safe storage at home (items 3, 4 and 5 in 571.111); present their certificate of successful completion of that online course to another qualified ccw instructor who then completes their training of the remaining required topics in 571.111 (items 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10). Under this change, there is NO requirement as to how long that remaining training has to take. Remember, the online certificate is presented to the qualified instructor that’s going to finish their training, not to the Sheriff’s Office when they apply for a permit. The only certificate needed at time of application is the one issued by the instructor finishing the training. It is up to the instructors to confirm the online training certificate is real. Otherwise, a person who does not take the online course, must successfully complete the 8 hour class as is currently required. This provision became effective October 14, 2016.

Use of Force RSMO 563.031 (Castle Doctrine/Stand Your Ground)

Some new language was added which clarifies that guests of a property may use force in circumstances described in the statute, and also adds language that a person does not have a duty to retreat from, "…any other location such person has the right to be." This provision became effective October 14, 2016.

CCW Application Fees

Language solidifies that Sheriff’s Offices cannot charge more than $100 total for the costs of processing new 5 year ccw applications, which includes the fees for the MSHP and FBI portions of the criminal history and fingerprint checks. However, additional fees charged by credit/debit cards and other electronic transactions are allowable. This provision became effective October 14, 2016.

All of the processes and requirements regarding changing of address, change of name, lost permits, expirations, renewal, etc…all remain unchanged with the exception to members of the military. If military members are deployed or on active duty at the time their permit expires and they are unable to renew within time limitations, or they are injured during their military service, they will not be charged late fees for the time they were unable to renew, or for two months following their return home. Late fees will begin to accrue after that two month period that they've been back. This provision became effective October 14, 2016.

This bill does NOT change anything with regard to the process to purchase a firearm from a firearms dealer. A prospective buyer must still undergo and pass the NICS check before the sale can go through. Private sale of firearms has not been affected either.


Conceal & Carry Finger Print Station Conceal & Carry Finger Print Station
  1. How do I get my concealed carry permit?

  2. Where can I get the training certificate needed for concealed carry?

  3. Where can I apply for my permit?

  4. How much does a permit cost?

  5. Do other states recognize a Missouri CCW permit?

  6. Are there places in Missouri I can't carry a concealed firearm after I get my permit?

  7. Do I have to get a CCW permit if I only want to carry a concealed firearm in my car?

  8. I took a firearms safety course a number of years ago. Can I use that certificate to apply for a CCW permit without taking a new course?

  9. After the passage of concealed carry in Missouri, I took a concealed carry training course but never applied for my concealed carry permit. Is my concealed carry training certificate still valid, or do I need to take another concealed carry training course?

  10. How long will it take to get my CCW permit?

  11. How long is my concealed carry permit valid?

  12. Do I have to carry my permit with me when I have a concealed firearm?

  13. Where can I find all of the Missouri Statutes that pertain to Concealed Carry and other weapons offenses?

  14. Where do I go to get my CCW renewed?

  15. When can I start the renewal process?

  16. What is the cost of the renewal?

  17. What do I need to bring with me to do my renewal?

  18. Can I get the new certificate the same day?

  19. How can I be added to Boone County's approved concealed carry instructor list?

  20. What do I do if my permit is lost or destroyed?

  21. What do I do if I change my address?

  22. What do I do if my name changes due to marriage, divorce or some other legal name change?

  23. I pled guilty to a felony charge a long time ago, but I received a Suspended Imposition of Sentence (SIS). Will I still be able to get my CCW permit?

  24. What if I am not a natural born citizen of the United States of America, but have since obtained citizenship?

  25. What if I am a permanent resident of the United States, but not a U.S. citizen?

  1. How do I get my concealed carry permit?

    You must be at least nineteen years of age, or at least eighteen years of age and a member of the United States Armed Forces or honorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces, or a permanent resident of the United States.

    You must be a Boone County, Missouri, resident.

    Applicants can apply by presenting their firearms safety training certificate, a positive picture I.D., proof of current address, two complete sets of fingerprints and a non-refundable fee.

    Applicants who are not a citizen of the United States must provide an alien or admission number issued by the Federal Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement confirming permanent residency within the United States.

    back to top

  2. Where can I get the training certificate needed for concealed carry?

    There are a number of private vendors offering this training. They can be located via various advertisements in the media, and by contacting area gun stores and shooting organizations. The Boone County Sheriff’s Department cannot provide specific instructor information.

    back to top

  3. Where can I apply for my permit?

    Applicants from Boone County may apply at the location listed below:

    Boone County Sheriff's Department   Online - Apply for a Permit
    2121 County Dr.
    Columbia, MO 65202
    Monday through Friday - 8:30 am to 4:30 pm
    * CCW staff are off-duty on state & federal holidays; therefore, no applications are accepted at the BCSD on those days.

    back to top

  4. How much does a permit cost?

    Effective October 1, 2016, the fee for a new 5 year ccw permit decreased to $93.00.

    10 year Extended Permit: $200

    25 year Extended Permit: $250

    Lifetime: $500

    The fee for renewing a 5 year, 10 year, or 25 year permit is $50.

    BEFORE APPLYING FOR AN EXTENDED/LIFETIME PERMIT, CONSULT WITH CCW STAFF AT THE BOONE CO. SHERIFF'S DEPT.

    The Boone County Sheriff's Department accepts payment in the following manner:

    Cash, Credit, or Debit: Effective October 1, 2016, this fee became $93.00.
    There is a 4% additional fee (from the credit card vendor) for using a credit or debit device.

    If the Livescan fingerprinting system is temporarily unavailable it will be necessary to use ink fingerprint cards. In this instance a check for $26.00 payable to the MSHP Criminal Records Fund will be required, along with the remaining fee amount of $67.00 cash, credit, or debit due to the Boone County Sheriff's Department.

    back to top

  5. Do other states recognize a Missouri CCW permit?

    Yes, a number of other states recognize Missouri CCW permits. However, only the 5 year renewable ccw permits may be honored in other states.

    EXTENDED AND LIFETIME PERMITS ARE NOT VALID OUTSIDE OF MISSOURI!!

    For a viewing of states that accept Missouri's ccw permit, you may go to the Missouri Attorney General's Office Web site at the following address:

    https://ago.mo.gov/divisions/public-safety/concealed-carry-reciprocity.

    back to top

  6. Are there places in Missouri I can’t carry a firearm whether I have a ccw permit or not?

    Yes, there are a number of places specifically named in the law in which firearms, carried openly or concealed, are prohibited regardless of whether one has a ccw permit or not.

    Missouri Statute 571.107 specifically lists locations and under what circumstances that carrying a firearm is prohibited. 571.107 may be viewed by visiting http://www.moga.mo.gov/mostatutes/stathtml/57100001071.HTML.

    back to top

  7. Do I have to get a CCW permit if I only want to carry a concealed firearm in my car?

    No. Individuals lawfully possessing a concealable firearm may carry said firearm openly or concealed in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle, or anywhere else that is not prohibited by 571.107. See question 6 above for a link to that statute.

    back to top

  8. I took a firearms safety course a number of years ago. Can I use that certificate to apply for a CCW permit without taking a new course?

    No personal firearms safety training offered prior to the passage of this law will be accepted. Firearms safety courses for application purposes must meet current specific requirements of law, and must be held after 09/11/03 to be acceptable.

    back to top

  9. After the passage of concealed carry in Missouri, I took a concealed carry training course but never applied for my concealed carry permit. Is my concealed carry training certificate still valid, or do I need to take another concealed carry training course?

    As long as the course you took at the time was taught by a valid, qualified instructor as defined by statute, and as long as you still have the certificate that proves you successfully completed the training, then no, you don't need to take another class. If you have lost your certificate and your past instructor can't or won't provide you with a new one, then you will need to take and pass another approved training course.

    back to top

  10. How long will it take to get my CCW permit?

    That can vary, depending on the time it takes to complete the background check. However, a permit will be issued or denied within 45 calendar days from the date of application. If all background checks have not been completed by the 45th day, a provisional permit will be issued to the applicant until all checks are completed. If no disqualifying record is found then the provisional permit will be recalled and a "full" permit will be issued.

    back to top

  11. How long is my concealed carry permit valid?

    The concealed carry certificate/permit issued prior to August 28, 2013 is valid for a period of three years from the date of issuance. Any new or renewal concealed carry permits issued on or after August 28, 2013 are valid for a period of five years. Permits expire on the last day of the month in which they were originally issued, 3 or 5 years after issuance, depending on when their permit was issued. There are three Extended Permits now which are valid for 10 years, 25 years, or Lifetime, should one choose an Extended permit. BEFORE APPLYING FOR AN EXTENDED/LIFETIME PERMIT, CONSULT WITH CCW STAFF AT THE BOONE CO. SHERIFF'S DEPT.

    back to top

  12. Do I have to carry my permit with me when I have a concealed firearm?

    Yes. Any person issued a concealed carry permit shall carry the permit along with a valid government-issued photo ID at all times when carrying a firearm, and shall display the permit and identification upon the request of any peace officer.

    back to top

  13. Where can I find all of the Missouri Statutes that pertain to Concealed Carry and other weapons offenses?

    The entire Missouri Revised Statute chapter 571 may be viewed by visiting http://www.moga.mo.gov/mostatutes/ChaptersIndex/chaptIndex571.html.

    Section 571.101, RSMo, covers concealed carry permits, application requirements—approval procedures—issuance of permits, when—record-keeping requirements—fees.

    back to top

  14. Where do I go to get my CCW renewed?

    Boone County Sheriff's Department   Online - Apply for a Permit
    2121 County Dr.
    Columbia, MO 65202
    Monday through Friday - 8:30 am to 4:30 pm
    * CCW staff are off-duty on state & federal holidays; therefore, no applications are accepted at the BCSD on those days.

    back to top

  15. When can I start the renewal process?

    Applicants should begin the renewal process prior to the expiration of their CCW permit. Renewals can be done up to six months after the permit expires however, late fees will be applied at a rate of $10.00 for each month the applicant is late. If the permit is expired more than six months, the permit is canceled and the applicant must apply for an entirely new permit. Military personnel who were deployed or on active duty, or were injured and unable to renew, will not be assessed late fees until two months after their return from injury or duty/deployment.

    back to top

  16. What is the cost of the renewal?

    $50.00 Cash, Credit, or Debit at the Sheriff's Department.
    There is a 4% additional fee (from the credit card vendor) for using a credit or debit device. No $100 bills please. We are unable to make change on bills that large.

    There is a $10.00 late fee per month after the expiration of the CCW Endorsement.

    back to top

  17. What do I need to bring with me to file my renewal?

    Your Driver's License, Non-Driver ID and your current concealed carry permit.

    Payment is also due at the time of application.

    back to top

  18. Can I get the new permit the same day?

    No. Due to the volume of permit applications received, it will take several days to process and complete. You will be notified when your permit is ready. We try to complete renewal applications within seven (7) days.

    back to top

  19. How can I be added to the Concealed Carry Permit System’s statewide instructor database?

    Instructors who choose to do so, may register with the sheriff in the county in which they reside. To register, an instructor must provide a copy of their valid instructor certification(s), a course outline signed by the instructor and notarized, and a photo of the instructor, and pay a $10 annual fee. The instructor registration must be done annually for those who wish to be in the database and is only good for a calendar year. Any instructor registered in the statewide database shall be presumed by all sheriffs to be a valid instructor, unless the sheriff has reason to believe otherwise. Instructor information on the database is a closed record except for access by any sheriff.

    back to top

  20. What do I do if my permit is lost or destroyed?

    Within 7 days of actually discovering the loss or destruction of the permit, the permit holder must come to the Sheriff’s Department and "furnish a statement" in writing that the permit is lost/destroyed. A replacement permit will be issued within 3 days.

    A fee of $10 will be charged for processing a replacement permit.

    back to top

  21. What do I do if I change my address?

    If a CCW permit holder moves outside of the county in which their permit was issued, the holder must notify the sheriff of the new jurisdiction within thirty days of the change of permanent residence. The permit holder must show proof of the new address to the sheriff of the new jurisdiction. The sheriff in the new jurisdiction shall notify the sheriff of the old jurisdiction of the permit holder’s change of address. The sheriff shall take and destroy the permit from the old jurisdiction and issue a new permit from the new jurisdiction. The sheriff of the new jurisdiction shall report the address change to the concealed carry permit system within 3 days. The sheriff of the new jurisdiction shall charge a $10 fee for processing an address change. Examples of proof include providing a current lease agreement, current utility bill, home purchase documents, etc. A CCW permit becomes invalid if the holder fails to report the address change as prescribed within 180 days.

    A fee of $10 will be charged for the processing of a change of address transaction.

    back to top

  22. What do I do if my name changes due to marriage, divorce or some other legal name change?

    The permit holder shall obtain a corrected permit from the Sheriff that issued their current permit. The permit holder must provide proof of their name change within 30 days to the Sheriff that issued their current permit. Acceptable proof includes a marriage license/certificate, divorce decree or other court issued document verifying the name change. The Sheriff shall report the name change to the concealed carry permit system within 3 days of receipt of the information.

    A CCW permit becomes invalid if the holder fails to report the name change as prescribed within 180 days.

    A fee of $10 will be charged for processing a name change.

    back to top

  23. I pled guilty to a felony charge a long time ago, but I received a Suspended Imposition of Sentence (SIS). Will I still be able to get my CCW permit?

    No. Anyone who has ever "pled guilty to or entered a plea of nolo contendere or been convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year," is disqualified from receiving a CCW permit. An imprisonment term exceeding one year defines a felony. That a person received an SIS is irrelevant for the purposes of CCW, and they shall be denied.

    back to top

  24. What if I am not a natural born citizen of the United States of America, but have since obtained citizenship?

    If you are not a natural born citizen of the United States of America, but have since obtained citizenship you will need to provide proof of your citizenship. Acceptable forms of proof are Naturalization Papers or a United States passport.

    back to top

  25. What if I am a permanent resident of the United States, but not a U.S. citizen?

    If you are a permanent resident of the United States, but not a citizen, you will need to provide a permanent resident card (often called a green card) as proof of permanent residency.

    back to top